Puppy Anxiety

I have self diagnosed puppy anxiety.

And what exactly is puppy anxiety?

The anxiety a puppy owner has when they have to leave their puppy home alone in the puppy crate.

This is a problem for me because I never want to go anywhere because I don’t want to leave her at home alone in her crate.

Oddly enough, it isn’t because I worry about her being upset. Sure, she sometimes whines when we are leaving but she is always happy to see us when we get home. I turn on music that is for puppies with separation anxiety – which would be my Khaleesi. Or maybe it is me that has separation anxiety – I’m not sure.

My fear of leaving her alone is this panic I have about something bad happening like the condo catching fire and she is trapped in her crate. It is horrible – these negative thoughts. I know it is ridiculous.

I vowed this weekend to have a life and spend some time with my boyfriend outside of our home and without our girl. We went to dinner Friday night and did some shopping on Saturday. Both times we were only gone a few hours and she was fine.

I had to put out of my head all those negative thoughts. I question why can’t I just be a “normal” doggie owner and not stress these things.

I hate having these thoughts.

I am happy that I made steps to get out of the house and overcome that fear – both times, we had a nice time out and Khaleesi was perfectly fine when we returned.

 

Leave a Reply

